Spencer Abraham


Spencer Abraham
Director since 2005

Member of Environmental, Health and Safety Committee; Executive Compensation Committee; and Integration Committee​​

Secretary Abraham ​is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of The Abraham Group LLC, an international strategic consulting firm based in Washington, D.C. As a Senior Analyst for Potomac Research Group, Secretary Abraham provides predictive analysis on energy policy, energy markets and the geopolitics of energy to institutional investors in the energy space. He represented Michigan in the United States Senate prior to President George W. Bush selecting him as the tenth Secretary of Energy in U.S. history. During his tenure at the Energy Department from 2001 through January 2005, he developed policies and regulations to ensure the nation's energy security, was responsible for the U.S. Strategic Petroleum Reserve, oversaw domestic oil and gas development policy and developed relationships with international governments, including members of the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries. Secretary Abraham serves as Executive Chairman of the Board of Uranium Energy Corp.; and as a Director of PBF Energy Inc., where he serves on the Compensation and Nominating and Corporate Governance Committees; NRG Energy, Inc., where he serves on the Compensation and Nuclear Oversight Committees; Two Harbors Investment Corp., where he is Chairman of the Compensation Committee and a member of the Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee; and as Chairman of the Board of Uranium Energy Corp. He was previously a Director of GenOn Energy, Inc. and a Director and a member of the Nominating and Governance and Compensation Committees of ICx Technologies. He also serves on the board of C3 Energy, a private company. Secretary Abraham is a member of the Advisory Board of the Churchill Center, a member of the Board of Trustees of the California Institute of Technology, and is the Chairman of the American Task Force for Lebanon. He holds a Juris Doctor degree from Harvard Law School and is the author of "Lights Out!:Ten Myths About (and Real Solutions to) America's Energy Crisis."

Back to Board of Directors


​​​ ​​​